The Diplomatic Society

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size


The Uruguayan Postal Services issued a commemorative Nelson Mandela stamp in December 2011 in celebration of the UN Year of Afro-Descendants. The issuance of the stamp was the culmination of a number of high profile events in Uruguay around the Year of Afro-Descendants involving the Mundo Afro Organizations, all levels of Government (central, provincial and local), civil society and the Embassy.  It was also in the spirit of a number of events around Mandela Day, also involving all levels of government, civil society and the Embassy.

Given the close cooperation between the Embassy and the Afro-Descendant community in Uruguay and the Embassy’s good working relationship with the Nelson Mandela Foundation that participated in a conference on countries in transition in Uruguay earlier this year, the Embassy facilitated the approval of the Nelson Mandela Foundation to the issuing of the stamp.

The image that had been approved is an artist impression, created by a Uruguayan Afro-Descendant Mary Porto Casa, based on a photo chosen from the photo gallery of the Mandela Foundation.

In a press release by the Uruguayan Postal Services the following is said about Nelson Mandela: “There is probably not a more popular, admired and universally respected person in the politics of our time than the South African Nelson Mandela, icon of the struggle against Apartheid, former leader of the ANC, first black President of South Africa and Nobel Prize Winner”.

A series of two stamps have been issued in commemoration of the UN Year of Afro-Descendants, the other stamp being based on an artist impression of “The Afro-Descendant Woman” by the same artist.

The issuance of this commemorative stamp is a manifestation, not only of the admiration for Nelson Mandela, but also of the tireless work of the small, but active Afro-Descendant community in Uruguay.  

SA Embassy Montevideo, Uruguay


Thursday, 2 October 2014
  • Sunshine on Leith

September 2014 Edition



Weekly Digital Newsletter


South Asian University presented a photographic exhibit by Dr. Debojyoti Das By Srimal Fernando, Global Editor A grand opening ceremony for Dr. Debojyoti Das photographic exhibition was held on... <|> ABE initiative   Pictured seated with the students are (l-r) Mr Yoshiki Takizawa General Manager at Mitsui & Co. Johannesburg Branch and Chair of the Japan Chamber of Commerce and... <|> 100 Years of ANC Leadership  National Librarian Prof.  Rocky Ralebipi-Simela, ANC Treasurer-General Dr Zweli Mkhize, and editor Darryl Swanepoel Former National Party members Renier... <|> Berlin celebrates 20 years of a democratic South Africa Berlin was host to a grand celebration on Thursday, August 28, in honour of South Africa's 20 years of democracy. Hugh Masekela in... <|> Interview with an Academic: Professor Sasanka Perera , Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences  of South Asian University           This month the Global Editor for... <|> Indo-South African week   Left to right: Mr M Mankazana, Minister Counsellor- Agriculural Affairs, SA High Commission New Delhi, Mr Sanjeev Chopra, IAS, Joint Secretary, International... <|> Just a great bloke – In Memoriam Graeme Wilson, Australian High Commissioner to South Africa was remembered at a Memorial Service held at the Department of International Relations (DIRCO) in... <|> Visit to South Africa, Madagascar and Mauritius by the Australian Foreign Minister   South African International Relations and Cooperation Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane with the Honourable... <|> South Africa-UK Newton Fund collaboration Address by the Minister of Science and Technology, Naledi Pandor MP, at the signing of the Newton Fund Memorandum of Understanding between South Africa and... <|> Serbia flood donations   (from right to left): H. E. Ambassador Mr. B. Nikolic, Ms. V. Pavlovic-Marinovic, teacher, Serbian School St. Sava in Johannesburg, Mr. M. Milovanovic, president,... <|>
copyright 2013 the kianja project cc
best viewed in IE 10 or Mozilla Firefox V23.0.1